Back to Leadership Competencies page

Leadership Competencies and Developmental Opportunities

OPM has defined 27 Leadership Competencies as essential to organizational success.   

They are grouped into five categories called Executive Core Qualifications (ECQs).  The five ECQs are defined below and shown as links on the menu bar above.  Although called Executive Core Qualifications, they apply to everyone.  Some ECQs will relate more to your position than others.  They are:

Leading Change

Ability to develop and implement an organizational vision that integrates key national and program goals, priorities, values, and other factors.

Leading People

Ability to design and implement strategies that maximize employee potential and foster high ethical standards in meeting the organization's vision, mission, and goals.

Business Acumen

Ability to acquire and administer human, financial, material, and information resources in a manner that instills public trust and accomplishes the organization's mission, and the ability to use new technology to enhance decisionmaking.

Results Driven

Accountability and continuous improvement.  Includes the ability to make timely and effective decisions and produce results through strategic planning and the implementation and evaluation of programs and policies.

Building Coalitions and Communication

Ability to explain, advocate, and express facts and ideas in a convincing manner.  To negotiate with individuals and groups internally and externally.  The ability to develop professional networks with other organizations and to identify the internal and external politics that impact the work of the organization.


Accessibility/Section 508